SHA Management Team

The Sandwich Housing Authority is an independent governmental entity administered by a Board of Commissioners consisting of four members elected by the voters of Sandwich and a fifth member appointed by the Governor.

Regular public meetings of the Board of Commissioners are scheduled for the first Thursday of each month in the Community Room at Hansen Village, 20 Tom’s Way.  To confirm meeting times, or for more information on eligibility or unit availability, please contact the Sandwich Housing Authority at (508) 833-4979.

Paula Schnepp, Executive Director – Paula joined the SHA in July of 2008 as Executive Director and is responsible for the operation of all SHA-owned locations as well as the administration of all rental vouchers which are utilized at privately-owned rental properties.   She was previously employed as the Executive Director of the Community Health Center of Cape Cod where she oversaw a period of tremendous growth resulting in an operating budget which grew from $100,000 to $3.5 million.  As part of this growth, she also supervised a three year development process to acquire, permit and build a state of the art medical facility in Mashpee – on time and on budget.

Paula is also an elected Barnstable Town Councilor, a former Commissioner for the Barnstable Housing Authority and an appointed  member of the Community Preservation Act Review Committee for the Town of Barnstable.

Richard Johnson,  Chairman – Dick has been an elected SHA Commissioner since 2006 and is the former Mayor of the City of Taunton, the City Manager of Lowell, and the Executive Director of the Taunton Housing Authority.  He is also a former member of the Board of Directors and Treasurer of the Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency as well as President of the Massachusetts Chapter of National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials. Dick is currently employed by Utility Service Company Inc. and specializes in the development and operation of municipal water and waste water systems throughout New England.  He is also President of the Sandwich Economic Initiative Corporation.Member


  • Barbara J. Hadley
  • Christine M. Ernst
  • Nanette Block Perkins
  • Tobin C. Wirt*
*Governor’s appointee